September 2006

# THE EDUCATOR

# Course Development Workshop Instructor Training October 13, 2006



Abraham Lincoln once said "If I had 8 hours to cut down a tree, I would spend the first six

sharpening my ax." He knew the most important part of doing a job was preparation. truth holds true for educators. The time we spend deciding where we want to be at the end of the day, which methods we want to use to effectively get our message across, designing or revising activities to apply the concepts and ways to check to see if our students understand are all part of our course design process. As we begin our teaching careers, this process can be overwhelming. However, there are simple systems available to make our jobs painless.

Diane Simpson Alabama's first DREI and served as the international president of the Real Estate Educator's Association in 1997-1998. Diane is looking forward to returning to her Alabama home to demonstrate how to take the pain out of writing courses. Her experience is varied and for the past 27 years it has been real estate specific. She is a graduate of Ohio State University, received her real estate license in 1979, opened a private real estate school in 1985, taught nationally and internationally from 1987 until 2003 and for the past 8 years has worked for the International Division of the National Association of REALTORS® writing and revising courses, auditioning new teaching talent and observing the international cadre in the field. Diane is an

award-winning photographer who will take you to some of her favorite places in the United States as she demonstrates tried and true activities that work for any subject or age group you teach. Her focus is always on having fun during the learning process.

This course will provide six of the twelve hours needed to renew instructor approval in 2007. Remember, these hours are not interchangeable with CE hours that are needed to renew your broker license. These CE hours are only applied toward the renewal of your instructor approval. The CE hours that will be applied toward your broker license renewal must be taken from other instructors and completed by September 30, 2006. Take advantage of this great training opportunity and

acquire hours needed for instructor renewal. We look forward to seeing you on October 13, 2006.

LOCATION
AREC Training Room

REGISTRATION 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

TIME 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

COST \$75.00 (includes lunch & breaks)

REGISTRATION
All participants must register through Auburn University's Outreach Program Office. See the enclosed registration form for more details.

2007 Instructor Training TBA

### **Deadline for Course Credit Entries**

As stated in  $\{34-27-35(j)(1)\}$ of Alabama license law, "each applicant for renewal of an active salesperson or broker license...shall, on or before September 30 of the final year of each license period, submit proof of completion of not less than 15 clock hours of approved continuing education course work to the commission...". The absolute deadline for CE credit to be entered is 11:59:59 PM on September 30, 2006. Even though Rule 790-X-1-.12(6) allows course credit to be entered within 10 days of course completion, the renewal deadline contained in the statute takes precedence.

Therefore, if you hold class or allow a distance education student to take a course in late September, the course credit must be entered prior to midnight on September 30 in order for that licensee to remain on active status. This is especially important for distance education providers. If you have a licensee who completes a CE course at 11:50 PM on September 30, he or she can remain active only if that course credit is entered prior to midnight.

All instructors and school administrators need to be aware of this. You have the responsibility of making sure your students are aware of

this as well. Please plan your September schedule with this deadline in mind. Additionally, if you choose to enter course credit on September 30, you should devise an alternate plan in case you have to move to another computer in the event you experience computer or Internet connection problems. If you have any questions at all regarding this matter, please contact the Education division. We want to make sure everyone understands this application of the law and the potential negative consequences for licensees if not handled in the correct manner.

### **Inside This Issue**

Cancelled Courses in CMap	2
A Change in CMap Entry Requirements	2
CMap Errors	2
Application for an Original License	3
Continuing Education	3
Splitting Continuing Education Courses	3

Continuing Education for 4

Instructor Renewal

**INSERT** 



## **Cancelled Courses in CMap**

By the number of courses that have been entered into CMap's Manage Course Schedules, it appears we have very busy instructors offering real estate education in all areas of the state each and every day. It is for this reason that the information entered for these course offerings must be current and correct. Our auditors base their travel solely on the information in CMap and it is a waste of time and money for an auditor to arrive at an advertised course only to find that it has been cancelled. This has happened on several occasions prompting the Education Essentials email addressing the issue of notifying the Commission when you cancel a course.

There has been some discussion as to when an instructor should make the decision to cancel a course. The number of people that you choose to teach and the length of time you hold a course open are entirely up to you. However, we would suggest that you cancel the course and remove it from CMap if you have not received enough participants by lunch of the day prior to the course offering. Our auditors check the course information in CMap on the morning of the course offering and assume it is a valid course if it appears. The exception to this would be prelicense and post license courses that are offered on a continuous basis. We understand that you have no control over the number of students that register for these courses and we do not expect daily emails regarding student count. As stated in license law. it is required that we be notified if a session is cancelled or a change in the schedule occurs that differs from the information in CMap.

In summary, for continuing education courses, it is recommended that you have a policy as to the number of

students you require to offer a course and the deadline you will set for registration. If a course needs to be cancelled, promptly remove it from CMap and email Pam Oates at pam.oates@arec.alabama.gov notifying her of the cancellation. This will alleviate any unnecessary travel which sometimes involves long distances and overnight accommodations.





# A Change in CMap Entry Requirements

Over the past couple of years, all courses taken for the next license renewal were entered into CMap. Certificates of completion were issued to licensees who were taking courses to activate a license for the first time in the 2005-2006 license period. As of October I, 2006 all course credit will be entered into CMap whether it is for license renewal or license activation. There will no longer be a need for certificates of completion

or the Student Record for Continuing Education in CE courses. There may be inactive licensees who were given certificates of completion for courses taken prior to October I and had course credit entered into CMap for courses taken after October I. These licensees will need to send their certificates to the Commission in order to be activated.

## **CMap Errors**

We are continuing to find a large number of input errors for course credit in CMap. Here are some of the most common errors that have been noted:

- Incorrect start & end dates
- Incorrect license numbers
- Duplicate entries

As far as incorrect dates and license numbers are concerned, we remind you to check all information before

you commit it in CMap. The start and end dates should be the actual dates of the course offering. No one should receive credit for a course that has not been successfully completed. When entering a license number, make sure the name that appears is the one of the individual you meant to enter. Licensees often will write down a wrong license number. This is easy to catch and correct if attention is paid to the name

that appears with the license number. Also, if no name appears when a license number is entered, that is an automatic red flag and the license number should be verified prior to committing it to the CMap database. If there is a problem with CMap and an email confirmation is not received, you may check for the credit by selecting *Course Credit History* from the Main Menu of CMap. All credit may be verified by

searching for Start/End Dates, License Numbers, and/or Course Numbers.

Since these mistakes can negatively affect a licensee's renewal, the Commission's Education Division is tracking the sources and number of errors and appropriate disciplinary action will be taken against school administrators and instructors who consistently make incorrect entries.

## **Application for an Original License**

Instructors, remember that students are depending on you for accurate information and advice when it comes to licensure. You are their main contact after they enroll in the salesperson prelicense course and someone they depend on for accurate information in the post license course. You need to make sure they understand what is needed for the real estate exam as they complete the salesperson prelicense course and that can easily be accomplished by providing a Candidate Handbook from AMP. You also need to make sure they understand what is needed for licensure as they complete the post license course.

Information regarding an original license can be found in §34-27-33(c)(2) and Rule 790-X-2-.03 of Alabama license law. This basically states the following:

- An individual who holds a temporary license may not apply for an original license until the post license course has been successfully completed.
- All temporary licensees have 12 months to complete the post license course and apply for an original license.
- Any licensee who holds an active temporary license

must complete the post
license course and apply for
an original license within 6
months of the first day of the
month following the issuance
of the temporary license. If
the course is not completed
and application for licensure
made by the 6 month
deadline, the temporary
license is automatically
placed on inactive status and
the licensee must meet the
requirements before the 12
month expiration date to
prevent the license from
lapsing.

Any licensee who holds an inactive temporary license has the entire 12 month period to complete the post

	funda.
	State of Alabama REALESTATE COMBINESSION Application for Real Extate Salesperson's Original License Military Advances (19) Constitute View Management, Statem 1998
License Fee:	\$ 85.00 for the business formed between \$0.01.0055 and \$01.00.3004 \$1.70,00 for business formed between \$0.01,0006 and \$01.00.3007
All fees may	of Fee: 10:00 ft settler license Schniste mit gif Tempageney License with new con- bes constructed in our clock made propole in Andrean Rand Christe Committees.  NOTI:—PREASE PREVIOUS LEL ANNURSEN IN N.C. OR USE LYPERSKITEN All question made in accord older, Stables in the will break to delive under indeed oper explanate.
Name as it appear	s as bosses: (A.S. Adar, Adar)  Cardo Cone  Moreal Plante  Moreal
2. Applicant's Sect	al Security Number
3. Rasidence Addo	Suns Zip
City	
4. Melkag Addres	Page
5. Email	Passe
6. Presently Emp	grad By
7. Salveperses's	License Streether
CHECK ONE O	971082
Whitesta W	□ Access Some w Lorentz, for per complete the following section. (i) be insued to overview name, for per complete the following section and complete the following. (ii) be insued to sective name, forther under whom you wish to be insued must complete the following. (ii) be insued to sective name, forther under whom you wish to be insued as section complete the following. (ii) be insued to sective name, forther under whom you wish to be insued on the insued to section to provide the following.
"Sa 129 051	alon this applicant is because of the Alphama Real Estate Liberto Liberto
Company Naz	sa (a: appears on license)
Company Res	or (in repress or license)  Outside (Neighber (Rease State Accurately)
Company Ad	442
Compage To	deploye Number
Output	deglocae Number
420, 0	Broker's License Number
Garons	Diese 1
	IMPORTANT
	Reten Temperay License with this application. If your expend locuse will be insued to this ususe company who hadn your temperary locuses, you may continue to work. If your expend locuse will be insued to make company (on branch), you may not expen to brainess would your oxigond locuse has been. If your expend locuse will be insued to marker company (on branch) you may not expend to be taken the locuse in Locuse.
1.	If your original license will be instead to the same company in branchi, you may not expense in business until your original school and
1.	If your adjust, a course with he inseed to mother complete (in branch), you may see despite.  Sending this application contribed must will NOT pecusive you to work prior to the time the license in inseed.  Sending this application contribed must will NOT pecusive you to work prior to the time the license in inseed.
1.	Sending this application certified test well 1901 person you as

license course and apply for an original license.

As an instructor, you need to make sure your post license students understand this. It is actually a line item in Module VIII of the post license course outline requiring the instructor to mention the Application for Real Estate Salesperson's Original License. If offering the post license course through distance education, it is sometimes a challenge to make sure students receive the Salesperson Original Application and are aware of the licensing process. All instructors must make sure all post license students are aware of the deadlines and encourage them to apply for an original license prior to the deadline, whether they hold an active or inactive temporary license. Every temporary licensee must apply for an original license prior to the 12 month deadline or the license will lapse. It is your responsibility as an instructor to provide each person in your post license course with a Salesperson Original Application. It may be downloaded from the Commission's Web site by clicking "Education" at the top of the homepage and selecting Forms and Applications from the drop down menu. Your cooperation and assistance in this matter is appreciated. Please contact the Education Division if you have any questions.

# Splitting Continuing Education Courses

What is meant by "splitting" courses? An example of a split course is a 6 hour continuing education course that offers 3 hours on one day and 3 hours on another day as opposed to all 6 hours being offered on the same day. There are some instructors who are splitting courses in this manner for reasons of convenience. Rule 790-X-1-.12(3) states that "a licensee cannot earn more than nine (9) hours of continuing education credit in any one day." This rule allows a licensee to take continuing education courses for up to 9 hours in a single day. Therefore, courses that can be offered within a one day period should not be split into two days as it would only increase the problems of accurate record keeping involving 100% attendance. It is sometimes difficult enough to make sure all participants are in class 100% of the time for a 3 hour period. Splitting a continuing education course over two days makes it even more difficult. The only courses that need to be offered over a two day period are those that contain more than 9 hours of classroom time. Any course that is approved for 9 hours of credit or less should be offered for one day only. Exceptions to this rule have occurred in the past, but only with the approval of the Commissioners.

## **Continuing Education Course Renewals**

Instructors are reminded that September 30, 2006 is the deadline to renew courses that were not renewed by the deadline last year. Courses that were not renewed by September 30, 2005 were all placed on inactive status as of October 1, 2005. If these same courses are not renewed by September 30, 2006, they will no longer be available for renewal and a new course application will have to be submitted. To renew a course, a "Course

Renewal Form" may be downloaded from the Education Forms and Applications on the Commission's Web site. This application must be submitted along with a fee of \$50 per course. If a course approval lapses and a new course application has to be submitted, the fee will be \$100. Contact the Education Division if there are questions about course renewal.



1201 Carmichael Way Montgomery, Alabama 36106 Phone 334.242.5544 Fax 334.270.9118 education@arec.alabama.gov arec.alabama.gov

COMMISSIONERS
Bill E. Poole, Chairman, Huntsville
Roy F. Bragg, Birmingham
Jewel Buford, Tuscaloosa
Thomas L. Hays, Birmingham
Gordon Henderson, Albertville
Robert S. Hewes, Dothan
Shelia Hodges, Gulf Shores
Lyman Lovejoy, Odenville
Chester Mallory, Montgomery

STAFF

Ryan Adair, Education Director David Bowen, Education Specialist Pam Oates. Education Specialist Gloria H. Ingram, Education Assistant Connie F. Rembert, Education Assistant

D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director Pat Anderson, Assistant Executive Director Vernita Oliver-Lane, Editor Robina Jenkins. Assistant Editor

# **Continuing Education for Instructor Renewal**

Let's take a minute to look at the instructor continuing education requirements to make sure that everyone is on the same page and hopefully answer any questions that may still exist. As a result of recommendations from approved instructors and support from our commissioners, an amendment to Rule 790-X-I-.10 became effective October I, 2005. This amendment requires all real estate instructors to complete 12 hours of instructor training courses no later than August 31 of the second year of each approval period. These courses can include the sessions organized by the Commission and offered in the training room in Montgomery or they can be taken from other course sponsors (i.e., other real estate commissions, REEA, etc.) as long as it has received prior approval by the Commission. Four training sessions have been offered in

Montgomery since this rule amendment took effect and at least five more will be offered prior to the renewal deadline in 2007. It only takes two of these training sessions to satisfy the 12 hour requirement. Make plans to attend these beneficial training sessions where you will not only satisfy the renewal requirement but also gain knowledge that can help you in your classroom. The following questions and answers will hopefully help instructors understand everything associated with this requirement.

# Who is required to attend these training sessions?

All real estate instructors who are approved to teach prelicense and post license courses must have 12 hours for renewal. Exempt instructors include those who were approved in the second year of the approval period, those who teach only continuing education courses, and those who serve as full-time college instructors.

Do I have to take these instructor courses if I am exempt from CE requirements because of my age?

Yes. The only exemptions for instructor CE are the ones previously mentioned.

#### If I have more than 12 hours of instructor CE, can the excess hours be used to renew my broker license?

No. CE for instructor renewal and CE for broker license renewal are separate and there can be no combination or crossover.

# Can I still get credit for teaching my own courses?

No. The rule amendments that became effective on October I, 2005 included wording eliminating this option. Instructors must take CE courses from other approved instructors in order to earn 15 hours for broker license renewal.

Why aren't my hours earned at the 2004 Annual Instruc-

# tors Seminar showing as instructor credit?

The 2004 Annual Instructors Seminar was actually held prior to the rule amendment. CE for instructor renewal could not be earned until October 1, 2005. Therefore, the first instructor training that would count toward instructor renewal was the Technology training in October of 2005 by Amy Chorew. The credit earned at the Annual Instructors Seminar in 2004 was applied toward your broker renewal as has always been the case in the

# What if I do not have the 12 hours of training by the deadline?

Your instructor approval will automatically be placed on inactive status as of October I, 2007 until the requirement has been met. No courses may be taught while inactive.