The Education

2019 Education Renewal
ID Number Registration
New License Law Book and App
Trouble with PSI Portal Reports?
PSI Candidate Handbook
Temporary License Verification for an Online Post License Course
Q & A
Upcoming Instructor Training Opportunities
Education Snapshot

Instructor Training August 16, 2019



THERESA BARNABEI will be presenting an instructor training entitled Your Students and the Classroom Experience! on August 16, 2019, allowing attendees to learn to create dynamic classroom experiences by incorporating student-centered instruction

methods. Attendees will also learn the value of implementing the tools of the trade that impact their students, who in turn will better serve their clients outside of the classroom. This training will include class exercises, group discussions, lecture, and demonstrations.

Theresa is a school owner and national trainer with Course Creators in Tucson, AZ. Her passion for real estate has afforded her the opportunity to be a presenter on behalf of NAR and for associations and brokers throughout the country, including four years as a Keller Williams BOLD Coach. As a member of the national Real Estate Educators Association (REEA), Theresa has served on the Board of Directors for several years and is currently serving as the REEA President-Elect.

She is also a lead instructor for REEA's Gold Standard Certification IDW program.

As a published author, her bestselling book *Multiply Your Business* presents 10 new marketing realities for the real estate industry. Theresa lives by her company's mission statement: *The only goal in presenting anything is that our students "Get It, Use It, and Become More Successful Because Of It!" Otherwise, it doesn't get taught!*

Completion of this training will provide six of the twelve hours needed to renew instructor approval in 2019. Remember, these hours are not interchangeable with CE hours that are needed to renew your broker license. These CE hours are only applied toward the renewal of your instructor approval.

All participants must register through Auburn University's Office of Professional & Continuing Education (OPCE).

DATE

August 16, 2019

COURSE

Your Students and the Classroom Experience!

LOCATION

Alabama Real Estate Commission Training Room

REGISTRATION

8:30-9:00 a.m.

TIME

9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Cost

\$129 (includes lunch and breaks)

REGISTRATION FORM

Your Students and the Classroom Experience! Presented by Theresa Barnabei

Friday, August 16, 2019 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL Alabama Real Estate Commission

REGISTRANT INFORMATION FIRST LAST Address ZIP CITY STATE Phone _____ Fax _____ Email Address NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE FOR NAME TAG **COURSE INFORMATION** Lunch will be provided. □ (\$129) Your Students and the Classroom Experience! – Received by August 2, 2019 □ (\$159) Your Students and the Classroom Experience! – Received after August 2, 2019 FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER **FAX** this form to 334/844-3101

CALL in your information to 334/844-5100

MAIL this form to Office of Professional & Continuing Education, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn, AL 36849

Purchase Order

WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/opce/re

☐ Money Order

PAYMENT INFORMATION

☐ Check

☐ Visa	☐ MasterCard	☐ American Express	☐ Discover
Expiration Date		Card or Purchase Order Nun	nber
Authorized Signa	ature		

Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number. Otherwise, you will not be considered registered.

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY

TOTAL ENCLOSED _____

CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS

Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a \$15 administration charge. Refund requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who cannot attend. Auburn University and the Office of Professional & Continuing Education reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections, to limit registration, or to change instructors or speakers.

This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100.

TheEducator

2019 Education Renewal

The letter explaining education renewal was mailed on July 9. Please review the following to make sure all renewals are satisfied:

- **1.** Online renewal is required. Log in to *Online Services* on the Commission's website to access renewal links under *Available Services*.
- Use the instructions mailed on July 9. Please notify the Commission if you did not receive this mailing.
- Renew all approvals/licenses including instructor, CE courses, administrator, and school.



- **4.** Course information may require some changes before the renewal is finalized. Check all submitted courses after submission to verify successful renewal or to make corrections.
- 5. Prelicense instructors who acquire 12 hours of instructor CE and renew prior to the next scheduled instructor training can use the next six hours of instructor CE for the education renewal in 2021. All renewal requirements must be satisfied prior to a scheduled instructor training in order for those instructor CE hours to be used in 2021.
- 6. The deadline for all renewals is September 30.
- 7. Anything not successfully renewed prior to the October 1 deadline will automatically be placed on inactive status and will then lapse if not renewed prior to January 1, 2020.
- 8. Inactive instructors may not teach any courses, inactive courses may not be offered to anyone, inactive administrators may not access CMap for course scheduling and course credit, and inactive schools may not sponsor/offer any courses.



ID Number Registration

The Education Division continues to receive phone calls from prelicense students asking how to schedule the examination and knowing nothing about registration for an ID number. One phone call involved a student who said his instructor told him to call the Commission to get his number.

As a reminder, all salesperson and reciprocal prelicense students must preregister to get an ID number. This number will be used by the school to submit appropriate prelicense course credit and will also be used by the student to schedule the license examination. Students can use the school's specific link for pre-registration or select the ID Number Registration link under Professionals on the Commission's website.

Also, if you have a prelicense student who has been previously licensed and allowed that license to lapse, this student will not need an ID number. Previous licensees must use the same license number they were originally given. Instead of pre-registering, they just need to log in on the Commission's website and update all contact information.

All prelicense instructors and distance education providers must provide this information to all students so proper steps can be taken to provide a preregistration number. Please contact the Education Division if you do not understand this process.

New License Law Book And App



An updated and current License Law book is now available and can be bought from the Alabama Center for Real Estate (ACRE). There are two options for purchase:

1.Go to the Commission's website and select the *License Law* link under the *Laws* heading. An online store link and phone number for ACRE is provided.

2.Go to ACRE's website acre.culverhouse.ua.edu and select Publications under the Education heading.

This book can be purchased and used in the classroom allowing your students to have a printed copy to be used for study.

All distance education courses must be updated to provide the correct edition. Please make sure all License Law references in distance education courses are current allowing students to study the right material.

The Commission's website always has current statutes and rules. It is constantly updated as soon as statute changes and rule amendments become effective.

Coming soon, individuals will be able to access License Law on an iPhone or iPad. This will allow quick access to important information and is another great option for License Law in addition to the printed book and the Commission's website.

TheEducator

Trouble With PSI Portal Reports?











everal Administrators have had trouble accessing their school's examination performance reports from the PSI portal. We have found that the problems occur when Administrators use Internet Explorer as their browser. If you have encountered a problem, we suggest that you use another browser like Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome. This should correct the problem allowing constant monitoring

of students' performances on the state license examination and valuable information.

If you are currently not accessing your school's reports, we suggest that you make this a regular habit. Just go to goamp.com and select Portals at the top of the screen. A list of portals will appear and you will select School User to access the login screen for your school portal. Once logged in, you will be able to create reports on your students by examination and date so that

you can view and track student performance. Not only do you receive pass/fail information, the reports also provide information regarding each student's performance on the material from each section of PSI's Detailed Content Outline. This is valuable information when pinpointing problem areas for your students as you assist them with any examination retake preparation. It also allows you to identify areas of content requiring more

instruction if multiple students are performing poorly in one or two areas.

If you have not yet requested a username and password for portal access, send an email to

portalsupport@psionline.com or call 800-345-6559 and ask to be forwarded to the correct person to obtain this information. There is valuable information in these reports, so get a username and password and make these reports a regular part of your instructional plan.

PSI Candidate Handbook

The PSI Candidate Handbook for Alabama real estate examinees is available at no cost to all prelicense schools



and instructors. To order *PSI Candidate Handbooks*, send an email request to **portalsupport@psionline.com**.

Salesperson and broker prelicense students must be given access to license examination information by either receiving a printed *PSI Candidate Handbook* or being directed to online access to the handbook at **goamp.com**.

Temporary License Verification For An Online Post License Course

As stated in Rules 790-X-1-.06 and 790-X-2-.03 of Alabama License Law, the 30-hour post license course is required for all temporary salesperson licensees. A person is required to have a temporary salesperson license issued prior to beginning a post license course and must provide the license number to the instructor.

Some schools offering the post license course in a classroom request an actual printed license to verify licensure before a student can begin the post license course. Other schools will simply verify a license on the Commission's website by using the *License Search* feature which will provide an individual's license number, status, and type.

Primary and secondary distance education providers must also check license numbers for individuals who purchase the post license course. The *License Search* feature is an easy method that can be used by distance education providers to verify an issued license prior to allowing an individual to begin a post license course.

TheEducator



QUESTION

If I already have 12 instructor CE hours, can I take another instructor training prior to the next approval period and use those six hours for the next instructor renewal?

ANSWER

Excess instructor CE hours cannot be carried over into another license/approval period. All hours will archive when an approval is renewed. However, if a prelicense instructor already has 12 instructor CE hours, he/she can renew the instructor approval and the next instructor training that is completed will be applied to the 2021 education renewal.

Log in to Online Services at arec.alabama.gov to find Instructor Resources under Available Services.





SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

 Overall
 First Time

 Taken - 1,665
 Taken - 1,016

 Passed - 855
 Passed - 654

Overall Passing % - 51.4 First Time Passing % - 64.4

BROKER EXAMINATION

OverallFirst TimeTaken - 101Taken - 88Passed - 87Passed - 79Overall Passing % - 86.1First Time Passing % - 89.8

RECIPROCAL SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

OverallFirst TimeTaken - 120Taken - 113Passed - 115Passed - 109Overall Passing 0/2005 0First Time Pass

Overall Passing % - 95.8 First Time Passing % - 96.5

RECIPROCAL BROKER EXAMINATION

OverallFirst TimeTaken - 61Taken - 58Passed - 57Passed - 54

Overall Passing % - 93.4 First Time Passing % - 93.1

Upcoming Instructor Training Opportunities

The deadline for prelicense instructor renewal is approaching and all prelicense instructors must have 12 hours of instructor CE in order to renew and remain on active status. All instructors who are placed on inactive status cannot teach in the classroom or serve as an online course instructor until renewal requirements are satisfied.

The following trainings are

currently scheduled for the offering of instructor CE hours:

AUGUST 9

AREEA
CREI Certification, Part 3:
Change & Connect
Martin & Fellows Real Estate
School

AUGUST 16

Theresa Barnabei "Your Students and the Classroom Experience!" **Commission Training Room**

SEPTEMBER 27

Juanita McDowell (sponsored by AREEA) "Creative Training for a Multi-Generational Classroom" Commission Training Room

Please remember that all instructors who do not have their 12 hours of instructor training by September 30 will go inactive on October 1 and will have limited

opportunities to obtain their required hours before the December 31 deadline.

Instructors who are only approved to offer CE courses are **NOT** required to have the 12 hours of instructor CE to renew their instructor approval. Those hours are only required for prelicense instructors.