January 2006

THE EDUCATOR

Real Estate Instructor Training In 2006

you recall, an amendment to Rule 790-X-1-.10 concerning instructor renewal became effective October I, 2005. This amendment included the requirement for all prelicense and post license instructors to successfully complete twelve hours of instructor training courses in order to renew in 2007. The



Commission's first offering that awarded six hours of credit toward the total of twelve hours was "Using Technology in Course Design" taught by Amy Chorew. This was a offering fantastic encouraging feedback was received from participants. We are attempting to keep the bar raised at a high level for our training sessions in 2006. Each training is worth six hours of CE credit. The following will be available this year so go ahead and mark your calendars for the ones that pique your interest

- License Law March 1, 2006 AREC Staff
- Real Estate Ethics May 5, 2006 Deborah Long, DREI
- Risk Management*
 July 18, 2006
 Dianna Brouthers, DREI

Course Development Workshop

October 13, 2006

Diane Simpson, DREI Emeritus

*Required of all new instructors who have not had the Risk Management Instructor Training previously. This training must be completed before receiving approval to teach the course.

Additional offerings will be available in 2007 prior to renewal. However, do not wait until the last minute to take these courses in case some of the last offerings reach full capacity before you are able to register. Take advantage of these great opportunities and talented presenters as they travel to Alabama to share and exchange knowledge wisdom with you. To register for a training session, contact Auburn University Outreach Program Office. See the enclosed registration form for more details.

Alabama.gov Web Site and Email Addresses

If you have not already noticed, the Commission's Web site address is now www.arec.alabama.gov. Please change the Commission's Web site address in your "Favorites" from www.arec.state.al.us to www.arec.alabama.gov. The old address will continue to work for awhile but eventually only the alabama.gov address will work. Email addresses for Commission staff have also changed using the same address extension. To email education staff, please use the following addresses: Ryan Adair ryan.adair@arec.alabama.gov David Bowen david.bowen@arec.alabama.gov Pam Oates pam.oates@arec.alabama.gov Gloria Ingram gloria.ingram@arec.alabama.gov

The Scoop On Continuing Education Requirements

Total CE Required

-15 Hours

Deadline

-September 30, 2006

Courses Needed

- -3 Hours Risk Management-12 Hours Approved Elective
- Courses

FAQs

Q: In what time frame do courses have to be taken to count toward the 2006 renewal? A: Courses taken only between October I, 2004 and September 30, 2006 are acceptable for meeting renewal requirements for the issuance of the 2007-2008 license.

Q: If someone holds a temporary license, is he or she required to complete continuing education by September 30, 2006?

A: No. Licensees who hold a temporary license are not subject to the continuing education requirements.

Q: If I am a new licensee and recently completed the 30-hour post license course, do I have to take more courses to obtain the hours for renewal?

A: No. Anyone who completed the post license course after October I, 2004 does not have to take any hours for renewal. The 15 hours of CE earned from the post license course will be applied toward license renewal.

Q: If I hold an active reciprocal license, am I required to complete continuing education?
A: It depends. If your original license from the other state is

on inactive status or has lapsed, then yes, you will be required to have 15 hours of continuing education by September 30, 2006. If your original license from the other state is active at the time of Alabama license renewal, then you are not required to meet our continuing education requirement.

Q: If I took 15 hours of CE during this current license period to activate my license, do I have to take more CE for the upcoming license renewal?

A: Yes. If 15 hours of CE were taken to activate a license for the first time during this license period, an additional 15 hours will need to be taken to renew that license for the next period.

Inside This Issue

The	lmpo	rtanc	e of	- 2
Corr	ect C	Мар	Entries	

Proper L	ocations for
Continui	ng Education
Courses	

∕⁄ho's	Responsible	3
OF Th	sic?	

Salesperson And	
Broker Prelicense	
Course Evams	

3

Salesperson Prelicense 3 Outline Checklist

School Codes And	
AMP Test Sites	

Page 2

The Importance of Correct CMap Entries

Commission's program has been active for over one year now and most instructors are very familiar with it. However, there are some who are still recording inaccurate information, whether it be instructors or assistants. We can not overemphasize the importance of entering correct information into both "Manage Course Schedules" and "Manage Course Credit." The course schedules are important because that is how individuals find courses that need to be taken. If you have the wrong information entered. you inconveniencing potential students and the Commission as well as hurting yourself. Potential students need to know the correct information in order to decide what course(s) to take. If they make a decision based on incorrect information, you could be losing students without knowing it. Also, the Commission needs correct

information in Course Schedules in order to determine when and where to go for course audits. Course Credit is even more important especially as we near license renewals in 2006. Any licensee who does not have the proper 15 hours entered through CMap will automatically be placed on inactive status as of October I,

2006. This may be a result of the importance of entering them not taking the courses or it

may be because an instructor did not enter the information correctly or did not enter it at all. We have seen mistakes such as multiple entries for the same course giving duplicate credit to licensees, incorrect years in the start and end dates, incorrect course codes, etc. Please double, triple, and quadruple check all CMap course credit entries prior to committing them to our database. Also, periodically check all CMap entries against school records to make sure everything has been entered and done so correctly. If you find errors, please contact Gloria Ingram at extension 438 for corrections to be made. Licensees are depending on you for this.

Now it is a fact that the law

stipulates licensees "We cannot overemphasize responsible for

correct information . . . "

checking the Commission's Web site two

weeks after course completion to ensure course credit has been accurately reported. However, we are fairly confident that not all licensees are aware of that. Therefore, we ask that you explain to all students who take your courses the process of checking credit and completing the electronic evaluation (except salesperson prelicense). The insert that is included in this mailing explains the procedure

of logging in and checking course credit. You need to make copies of this insert and distribute it to every licensee who takes your courses. They will then know to check for credit and will be able to contact you if they find an error. You also need to continue distributing and collecting the Student Record for Continuing Education in all CE courses which specifies why the student is taking the course so credit can be given in the proper manner. This form is included as an insert and can also be downloaded from the Commission's Web site. All of these Student Records must be collected and kept on file by the course provider. Please do not send these to the Commission. All of these things will help make license renewal in 2006 a much smoother process resulting in satisfied licensees and smiling AREC staff.

Proper Locations for Continuing Education Courses

Continuing education courses are going to be popping up all over the state in the upcoming months. Approximately 20,000 licensees will be taking continuing education courses as a requirement to renew their licenses on active status. Since there will be such a demand for courses. instructors will probably be making trips to various locations in an effort to provide opportunities to all licensees. Some of these locations may not be the most suitable for a continuing education course. Therefore, we feel the need to explain Rule 790-X-1-.19 regarding classroom facilities. The rule states courses must be conducted in a facility that

provides appropriate an learning environment and gives minimum requirements of acceptable classrooms.

- I. The classroom must be of sufficient size to accommodate comfortably all enrolled students. No student should have to sit in another student's lap unless it is part of an effective role play that will fulfill one of your learning objectives. Each student should have plenty of room to sit comfortably during the course.
- 2. The classroom must be adequately equipped with student desks, worktables with chairs or other seating having a writing surface. Two very important words in that first sentence are "writing surface."

Every student should have a writing surface for the taking of notes and/or placement of materials. course individual's lap considered an adequate writing surface. If a course is held at a real estate office, it must have a writing surface provided for EVERY student.

- 3. The classroom must have adequate light, heat, cooling, ventilation, and public address equipment. Further explanation should not be required here.
- 4. The classroom must be free of distractions that disrupt class sessions. Once again, if a course is being held at a real estate office, it must be in a room where other licensees will not be entering and leaving

- on a constant basis and interrupting the class. attention of the students should be focused on the instructor and not on other distractions and disturbances at the location.
- 5. The classroom must be accessible to persons with disabilities as required by the Americans with Disabilities

Be careful with the selection of the sites where continuing education courses are held. If a course sponsor asks you as a CE instructor to travel to his or her location and teach a course, make sure you find out details of the location and make sure they comply with Rule 790-X-1-.19.

Page 3

Who's Responsible For This?

Many instructors who are approved to offer continuing education courses are invited by approved schools to offer a specific course. For example, Instructor A in Montgomery is invited by Real Estate School B in Huntsville to offer a continuing education course. This is a good way to expose licensees to different instructors throughout the license period instead of being limited to local instructors; however, a question arises from this scenario. Who is responsible for the recordkeeping associated with this course offering? Does the course sponsor bear that responsibility or should the instructor be required to maintain these records? In order to answer this question we must refer to Rule 790-X-1-.12 since



ing education course offerings are identified here.

the requirements for continu-

Salesperson And Broker Prelicense Course Exams

As everyone knows, Rule 790-X-1-.06 requires a course final exam in both the 60 hour salesperson prelicense course and the 15 hour broker prelicense course. Occasionally, students will not pass the exam on the first attempt and will need to retake it before receiving a certificate of completion or course credit. We have discovered on some school audits that the same exams are being given multiple times to these students who require a retake. It is more advantageous to have two or three different exams prepared for retakes. A student who continues to take the same exam multiple times may end up eventually passing without actually learning the material. This does not prepare students for the state licensing exam and can hurt your school's exam statistics.

All salesperson prelicense exams must contain questions pertaining to the national portion of the exam and state related questions. Standardized tests that cover only material from a single textbook are not adequate for a course final exam. Basic real estate information and state specific information must be covered on all course final exams. Once again, students will not be adequately prepared for the licensing exam if they have not learned and been tested on all content.

Also, all broker prelicense courses require an exam regardless of how they are offered to students. Whether you offer this course using Modules 2 and 3 from the post license course, a broker cram course, a regular classroom course using the original outline, or as a distance education course, successful completion of a final exam is required before any student is given course credit.

You will see in paragraph (5) that course sponsors are responsible for reporting the course information (date, time, location, etc.) to the Commission through CMap at least one week prior to the offering. The next paragraph states the responsibility of the instructor is to report the course credit for all students who successfully completed the course through CMap within ten days of course completion. You may ask, "Why can't the school report course credit since it has the registration information for all participants?" This is a legitimate question, especially since paragraph (8) of Rule 790-X-1-.12 requires course sponsors to maintain permanent attendance records for students for a minimum of

Here is the answer you have all been waiting for-the course sponsor is responsible for entering course information into CMap and for maintaining permanent attendance records for four years. However, either the course sponsor or the instructor may enter the course credit for each student. The instructor may allow the course sponsor to enter the credit as long as the instructor understands that the responsibility of correct and complete information being entered falls with him or her. If there are any mistakes, the instructor is the one who bears responsibility. Therefore, as an instructor, you have the option of allowing the course sponsor to do everything or taking the list of students and entering the information yourself. If the second option is chosen, you would need to provide the course sponsor with the verification that all entries had been made in CMap.

Salesperson Prelicense Outline Checklist

In a mailing dated November 30, 2005, all prelicense instructors received an updated AMP outline, state content outline, an outline checklist, a sheet identifying the licensing process, and a memorandum explaining the contents. We requested that the checklist be completed and returned to the Commission. The purpose of the checklist is to identify where and when the outline topics are covered. This is accomplished by listing the textbook page numbers that address the topic and the course session in which it is covered. This is to be submitted to the Commission to be kept on file. It is also to be distributed to prelicense students so they may use it as a guide in the course and check the outline topics as they are covered.

All of this was initiated with the desire to create a salesperson prelicense course outline for all prelicense instructors to follow. The idea was to get all instructors on the same page and make sure all areas of the AMP content outline were being covered. A task force was assembled to work on this project and, after much deliberation, came to a final conclusion that it would be easier and more appropriate to distribute the checklist instead of trying to organize a specific course outline such as the one being used in the post license course. We are thankful to that task force for the valuable time committed to this project. Now with the textbook pages and course sessions identified on the checklist, an auditor from the Commission will know what to expect when auditing a specific course session of a prelicense course.

We have received a few submissions, but there are many that have not been returned. If you are among those who have not submitted your salesperson prelicense outline checklist, you must do so by February 3. or contact David Bowen to confirm the fact that you are not teaching. We need to have those on file for future audits. If you have questions concerning the checklist, please contact the Education Division.



1201 Carmichael Way Montgomery, Alabama 36106 Phone 334.242.5544 Fax 334.270.9118 education@arec.alabama.gov arec.alabama.gov

COMMISSIONERS
Bill E. Poole, Chairman, Huntsville
Roy F. Bragg, Birmingham
Jewel Buford, Tuscaloosa
Thomas L. Hays, Birmingham
Gordon Henderson, Albertville
Robert S. Hewes, Dothan
Shelia Hodges, Gulf Shores
Lyman Lovejoy, Odenville
Chester Mallory, Montgomery

STAFF Ryan Adair, Education Director David Bowen, Education Specialist Pam Oates, Education Specialist Gloria H. Ingram, Education Assistant

D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director Pat Anderson, Assistant Executive Director Vernita Oliver-Lane, Editor Robina Jenkins, Assistant Editor

School Codes And AMP Test Sites

s stated in Rule 790-X-1-.06(j), all prelicense instructors are responsible for issuing a certificate of course completion to all students who successfully complete the salesperson prelicense course. These certificates must contain all information such as student name, social security number, course grade, start/end dates, original instructor signature, etc. Other areas of information that are very important are found at the bottom of the certificate. They include the type of course taken (classroom or distance education), the instructor code, the school code, and the course code. These codes are very important for a variety of reasons. One of the main reasons is the fact that the codes are used to calculate and report exam statistics for schools. When an examinee registers for the licensing

exam, he or she is required to record the school name and code. The school code that is on the exam registration form is the school that will receive credit for that individual either passing or failing. As a prelicense instructor, make sure your students understand they should record the school code that is on their certificate when registering for the exam.

Secondary providers of distance education courses must definitely make sure their students understand this. Some individuals may be taking a primary provider's DE course through a secondary provider and choose the primary provider's school name when registering for the exam. If this happens, that primary provider will receive credit for the passing exam grade instead of the secondary provider. In order to have accurate exam pass rates for all schools, students need to understand

that they must use the school code on their certificate of completion.

Another issue that has arisen involves separating exam results of students who took the salesperson prelicense course in the classroom from those who took it through distance education. This is something that we at the Commission would like to see in order to compare classroom course results to distance education course results to determine if there is any significant difference in the two. This can not be done if we receive one set of exam results from schools who offer both types of courses. Therefore, we created an additional school code for those providers. Classroom courses will have an "A" at the end of the school code and distance education courses will have a "B" at the end. Remember, this is only for

those schools that offer both types of courses. All other schools will maintain the school code that has always been used. We have contacted these schools to explain this change but would like to take this opportunity as a reminder. The ideal manner of handling this change is to have two certificates already prepared with the school name, address, and all codes. Then, you would just have to give the correct certificate to a student upon completion of the course with instructions to use the school code on the certificate when registering for the exam. As a result, the instructors and Commission will be able to see how classroom students and distance education students are performing on the exam in comparison with each other. Please help us by paying special attention to these matters so we can all receive accurate exam results.