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Important Reminders for Submitting Course Applications 

 

• The specific rules in Alabama License Law that govern continuing education courses are 790-X-1-
.11 and 790-X-1-12. 

 

• The course must be a minimum of 3 hours and consist of subjects which are core real estate and 
which will assist the licensee in fulfilling the Commission’s objective of protecting the public. 

 

• On the application you must show how the consumer/client will benefit from the licensee taking 
this course. You are not showing how a licensee will benefit. Your course outline, objectives, and 
strategies should all be written with the benefit to the customer/client in mind.  

 

• Alabama License Law specifically lists as unacceptable subject matter: motivational courses, 
personal development courses, sales meetings, in-house training, and orientation sessions. 

 

• The $100 fee is a course review fee. If your course is denied, this fee is not refunded. 
 

• There is a 30-minute window once logged into our website to complete the course application. 
Because the system will time-out, it is best to have the information in a Word document so you 
can just copy and paste the information into the appropriate boxes. 

 

• The content outline should be detailed with time segments of between 5 and 15 minutes each. 
You should clearly identify the topic that will be covered during the time segment. A 10-minute 
break is allowed for every 50 minutes of course time.  

 

• Course objectives should be in the format of “At the conclusion of this course, the student will 
be able to…..” Objectives must be measurable. 

 
• For classroom courses, course strategies should clearly describe what the instructor plans to do 

in the course other than lecture (i.e. role play, town hall, questions/answers, PowerPoint, 
games, case studies, etc.) to promote student interaction. 

 

• Log on to the Commission website 3-5 business days after submitting a course to see if it has 
been approved or if more information is required.  

 
• Courses must be taught under an approved school. 
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Instructions for the Online Course Application 

1. Go to the Commission’s Website at www.arec.alabama.gov and select Online Services Login. 

2. Log in by providing your email and password. If you have forgotten your password, you can reset 
your password to gain access. 

3. Under Available Services, click New Course Applications. 

4. On the Course Application page, select either a classroom or distance education course application. 

5. Enter all required information in the spaces provided. You will have a 30-minute window to enter 
the information so it is best to have the information in a Word document so you can simply copy 
and paste the information into the application. 

6. Once all of the information has been entered, you will be taken to the Signature Page. 

7. There will be an opportunity to review and edit any information that has been entered.  Once 
satisfied with the entries, verify that the accuracy and applicability of the content has been reviewed 
by clicking Yes. 

8. Enter an e-Signature. 

9. There will be an option to pay with a credit card or e-check.  All appropriate information for the 
credit card or e-check must be entered for the payment to be processed.  Once the accuracy of your 
information has been verified, click Submit. 

10. You are now given an option to print a receipt for your payment or to return to enter another 
course.  You are strongly encouraged to print a receipt for your records. 

11. After 3-5 business days, log in to Online Services, go to Course Applications, and click See Pending 
Approval Courses to check the status of course submissions. 

12. If the course has been approved you will see the message that it has been approved.  If the 
Commission requires additional information, the requested information will need to be submitted.  
After submitting the requested information, check two business days later to see if the course has 
been approved. 

13. If you would like to see a list of all of the courses you are approved to teach, go back to the 
Available Services screen.  Click Approved Courses and you will see a list of the courses you are 
currently approved to teach.  You can print this page by clicking on Print at the top of the screen. 

        

http://www.arec.alabama.gov/

